Mirabelle Upside-Down Kage (Mirabelle Upside-Down Cake)

 
Mirabelles remind me of my childhood - I remember how my friends and I used to pick them and try to sell them by the road. However, no one ever really bought any, but we still had so much fun. I never really tried to use them for baking, so this is a first time. When my sister and I went to pick blackberries, we also picked 2,5 kgs of mirabelle plums, so obviously I had to bake something. I ended up baking this yummy upside-down cake. 

Mirabeller minder mig så meget om min barndom. Jeg mindes, hvordan mine veninder og jeg plejede at plukke dem, komme dem i poser og forsøgte at sælge dem ved vejen. Der var tilgengæld alrig rigtig nogen, der købte dem - men vi havde det stadig super sjovt. Jeg har aldrig rigtig forsøgt at bruge dem til bagning, så dette var første gang. Da min søster og jeg plukkede brombær, plukkede vi også 2,5 kg mirabeller, så jeg var jo nødt til at bruge dem til ét eller andet. Så det endte med denne gode upside-down kage. 

 
RECIPE/OPSKRIFT (24cm):

Caramel/Karamel:
- 200g sugar/sukker
- 25g butter/smør

Batter/Dej:
- 150g margarine
- 100g brown sugar/brun farin
- 75g sugar/sukker
- 3 eggs/æg
- 200g flour/mel
- 2 tsp baking powder/tsk bagepulver
- 1 pinch of salt/knivspids salt
- 500g mirabelles/mirabeller

1. Add a baking sheet to a 24 cm springform pan. // Kom et stykke bagepapir i en 24cm springform. 
2. Melt sugar in a pan, on medium heat. Then add butter and mix well with the melted sugar. Pour it into the lined springform pan. // Smelt sukker i en gryde, på medium varme. Tilføj så smør og bland det godt sammen, til det er en ensartet masse. Hæld det så over i springformen. 
3. Cut mirabelles into half and remove the stone. Add halves into the caramel, in circles, until all the caramel is completely covered. // Skær mirabellerne i halve og fjern sten. Læg så de halve i karamellen, i cirkler, indtil karamellen er helt dækket. 
4. For the dough; Mix margarine, brown sugar and sugar well together. Then add one egg at a time and lastly whisk for a few minutes to make the mixture airy and creamy. // Nu skal dejen laves. Først blandes margarine, brun farin og sukker godt sammen. Herefter piskes ét æg i ad gangen. Til sidst piskes i et par minutter for at gøre massen luftig og cremet. 
5. Add flour, baking powder and salt and turn it gently, to make sure to not lose air in the mix. // Kom så mel, bagepulver og salt i og vend det forsigtigt i dejen. 
6. Pour the batter on top of the mirabelles and smooth it all out. // Hæld dejen ovenpå mirabellerne og glat det godt ud. 
7. Bake the cake at 180 degrees C for about 40-45 minutes. Make sure to keep an eye on it. // Bag kagen på 180 grader og cirka 40-45 minutter. Hold godt øje med den. 
8. Let the cake cool in the springform pan, before turning it upside down onto a dish. Then serve with vanilla ice cream. // Afkøl kagen lidt i formen, for den vendes med på et fad. Herefter serveres den med fx vanille is. 

Comment here: